Book online or call us on : 0208  518 9730
 Office Hours : Mon to Fri : 0600 - 2300 Sat and Sun : 0900 - 2100

Due to technical issue, we are currently experiencing difficulties with our phone line, if you wish to speak an operator.

Please call us : 0208 518 1010 or mail us on or chat with us, we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

The Three Cities of Malta

        Fact: Over time, Malta has been ruled by The Romans, Arabs, Normans, Knights of St John, the French and The British.

The Three Cities (Senglea, Vittoriosa and Cospicua) sprawl over two peninsulas jutting into the harbour just across from Valletta. Enclosing two creeks (French and Dockyard) this was the heart of Malta's naval glory.

This is where the Knights built their fleet that raided the central Mediterranean, and where Britain based the headquarters of its Mediterranean Fleet in World War Two. Heavily bombed during the conflict, Senglea was pulverised into virtual oblivion.

Most individual attractions today are in Vittoriosa, home of Malta's oldest fort, Fort St Angelo and the somewhat macabre Inquisitors' Palace where the Catholic inquisition imposed its rule of terror.

Just about anywhere in the Three Cities makes for an atmospheric wander, especially the Collachio (the Knights' exclusive quarter) and the seafront with its wooden boats. The Margarita Lines and Cottonera Lines are - to many - more impressive than Valletta's fortifications.

The Three Cities in Malta